top of page

Notes Of The Republika Srpska: 100,000 Dinara (Republic Of Srpska, 1993)-Article

This Bosnian War-era (1992-1995) banknote represents the 3rd denomination of the Second Srpska Dinar (Series 1993). At the time of this note's printing, the Republic of Srpska was a unrecognized proto-state. Located within the newly independent nation of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Composed of ethnically Serbian enclaves, supported by Serbia and Montenegro.

This currency was a product of political chaos, marked by ethnic strife. Due the dissolution of Yugoslavia and a rapidly changing world, in Eastern Europe. Despite this turbulent history, the Republic of Srpska currently does have a degree of recognition. As one of two federal entities that forms the nation Bosnia and Herzegovina. (SEE: A Brief History of the Srpska Dinar)


The observe features Serbian novelist Petar Kocic (1877-1916). Who is remembered for his political agitations, during the Austro-Hungarian occupation of Bosnia. He used his writing and later position in the Sabor (Bosnian Parliament). To promote various grievances against the Austro-Hungarian monarchy. Such as introducing agrarian reform, freedom of the press, and freedom of speech.

Notably the observe is features a higher production quality, than those of the successor states. Mostly due in part to its production by Serbian State printer ZIN. This includes the utilization of security strips, on the earlier First Srpska Dinar.

The observe text is printed in Serbian and Cyrillic script. The header reads, "Народна банка Српске Републике Босне и Херцеговине", for the "National Bank of Republic of Srpske". Followed by a number "100000", represnting the note's 100,000 Dinara value. While the footer is a warning to potential counterfeiters that, "Forgery is punishable by law".

Towards the right, is the note's watermark area. At the top an additional number "100000" can be seen on a guilloché backing. Along the far right is vertical text, it reads "Сто хиљада динара". Reinforcing the note's beforementioned Hundred Thousand Dinara face value. The second lowest text is the signature of the Bank Governor (гувернер).

According to the lowermost text, this note was issued at the city of Banja Luka, on 1993 (Бања Лука 1992.). Banja Luka represents the de-facto capital of Republic Of Srpska. Backlighting the note will expose a full surface watermark. It features a repeating Greek-inspired spiral pattern.


The reverse features the Republika Srpska coat of arms. Notably the text mostly mirrors the observe, although printed in Latin script. Although some changes, such as the lack of the Bank Governor signature. Instead a red-inked vertical serial number has been added.

It reads "A 1701787", the letter "A" represent the note's production batch.

A Brief History of the Srpska Dinar

A 1992 Yugoslavian 5,000 Dinara.
A 1992 Yugoslavian 5,000 Dinara (1992).

Bosnian-Herzegovina succeeded from Yugoslavia on 3 March 1992. Although unlike Slovenia and Macedonia, which achieved independence through relatively peaceful means. The situation in Bosnia-Herzegovina quickly devolved into armed conflict. This conflict was called the Bosnian War (1992-1995). Fought amongst ethnic enclaves of Bosniaks (Bosnian Muslims), Croats, and Serbs.

The ethnic Serbian population, who was loyal to Yugoslavia (Serbia and Montenegro). Formed the the Republic of Srpska, a (then) unrecognized proto-state. Located within the northern and western potions of Bosnia and Herzegovina. With the desire to be annexed into Serbia, via assistance from the Serbian-Montenegrin armed forces.

A 10 Dinara, issued by the Republic of Srpska.
A 10 Dinara, issued by the Republic of Srpska (1992).

The First Srpska Dinar notes were issued on 1 July 1992, coinciding with the adoption of the "Reformed" Dinar. It was pegged at par (1:1) with the "Reformed" Dinar, with the intent of rapid conversion. A slightly similar practice was utilized by Yugoslavia's secessionist republics. Using the earlier "Convertible" Dinar as a base for their own transitional currencies.

This process was used by the recognized government of Bosnia and Herzegovina. Who's First Bosnian-Herzegovina Dinar was issued in Bosniaks controlled regions. Both the First Bosnian and Srpska Dinar initially paralleled each other, until the adoption of Second Srpska Dinar.

A 5000 Dinara, issued by the Republic of Srpska (1993).
A 5000 Dinara, issued by the Republic of Srpska (1993).

The Second Srpska Dinar was issued on 1 October 1993, replacing the First Spska Dinar. The exchange rate was an impressive 1 Million 1st Dinar to 1 2nd Dinar. This revaluation mirrored changes made by Serbia and Montenegro, with the adoption of "October" Dinar. It's circulation was short-lived, it was replaced by the Novi Dinar on 24 January 1994.

The Novi Dinar remained in circulation until 22 June 1998. When the Bosnia and Herzegovina Convertible Mark was introduced. In accordance to the 14 December 1995 ratification of the Dayton Peace Accords. Creating a unified currency for Bosnia, which remains in circulation to this day (2021). The Convertible Mark was originally pegged at par (1:1) to the pre-Euro Deutsche Mark.

This association with the Deutsche Mark made conversion simple. As the Novi Dinar itself was pegged to the Deutsche Mark. Due to the adoption of the Euro by Germany, the Convertible Mark is currently pegged (2:1) to the Euro.


Additional Notes

  • The note's dimensions are 140 x 67 mm or 5.51 x 2.64 in, slightly larger than a US Dollar.

  • The preferable method to preserve this note are large protective sleeves.

  • The Srpska Dinar lacked a formal ISO code and symbol, as Srpska was a unrecognized state.

  • Similar to the Krajina Dinar, the Srpska Dinar was produced by Serbian State printer ZIN.

  • Like many post-Yugoslav currencies, the Srpska Dinar lacked coins and subdenominations.

  • The Krajina Dinar is divided into separate First (Reformed) and Second (October) series.

  • Serbian issued Yugoslavian Dinar notes were accepted currency within the Srpska Republic.

15 views0 comments
bottom of page