top of page

Notes Of The West African Franc, The Manantali Dam: 500 Francs (Senegal, 2002)-Reference

Updated: Dec 9, 2022

This large West African banknote represents the 1st denomination of the West African CFA Franc (Series 1991). The beautifully illustrated observe features a Tuareg man backed by the Manantali Dam, in Mali. The reverse depicts a farmer on a garden tractor, in the form of an impressionist painting. Notably notes of the Series 1991 have been demonetized, replaced by the newer Series 2003. (Note Size: 140 x 78 mm or 5.51 x 3.07 in)



West African Franc Gallery

(Gallery will be updated as additional banknotes are databased)


Additional Notes

  • The CFA is a French institution which provides monetary services for France's former African colonies, via the French treasury.

  • The CFA manages 2 distinct, although interchangeable currencies the Central African and West African Francs.

  • The CFA Franc's ISO Codes are XAF (Central) and XOF (West).

  • The West African CFA Franc is the currency of 8 nations: Benin, Burkina Faso, Guinea-Bissau, Ivory Coast, Mali, Niger, Senegal, and Togo.

  • West African Francs feature a letter to designate member state: Ivory Coast (A), Benin (B), Burkina Faso (C), Niger (H), Senegal (K), Mali (M), Guinea-Bissau (S), and Togo (T).

  • This note was issued by CFA member Senegal, designated by the observe's letter K.

  • On 22 December 2019, it was announced West African CFA Franc will be eventually be replaced by Eco.

  • The Eco will include members of the West African Monetary Zone (WAMZ).

  • The Eco draws influence from the similar European Union's Euro.

  • The current CFA Franc is pegged to the Euro,1 € = 6.559 CFA francs.


bottom of page